Welcome to the Workers' Compensation Online Benefits Calculator.
This benefit calculator works for injuries on or after July 1, 2000.
The Division does not guarantee the accuracy of computations and assumes no liability for output errors. Due to changes in the law, taxpayers can no longer claim personal exemptions or dependency exemptions, the IRS 2020 Form W-4 no longer asks an employee to report the number of withholding allowances that they are claiming. This calculator is available to provide a general guide for determining gross weekly wage less payroll taxes to find a compensation rate. The agency source is the IRS Publication 15-T, Federal Income Tax Withholding Methods #5 (for 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023).
To use the calculator:
- Select the Type of Benefit (see description below)
- Enter the date of your work occupational injury or illness (enter as mm/dd/yyyy)
- Enter your gross weekly wage (see description of gross earnings below)
- Enter your marital status at the time of injury
- Enter the number of qualified dependents (include yourself in the calculation)
When calculating your workers' compensation benefits, keep in mind the following:
- The date of injury determines the compensation rate.
- Compensation rates are based on gross earnings. The calculation varies depending on how a person is paid, as defined in Alaska Statute 23.30.220(a) and 23.30.395(22)
- The spendable weekly wage is gross weekly earnings minus payroll tax deductions.
- Dependents include spouse, legally dependent children, or other individuals legally dependent upon the injured worker, as defined in Alaska Statute 23.30.395
- Compensation rates are capped under Alaska Statute 23.30.175 . The maximum and minimum rates are established each year by bulletin, which can be found online at https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/bulletins.htm
TTD (Total Temporary Disability) and PTD (Permanent Temporary Disability):
If the spendable income for 2023 is less than $312,
the compensation rate shall be equal to the spendable income.
If the spendable income for 2023 is equal or greater than $312,
the compensation rate shall be equal to $312.
If 80% of spendable income for 2023 is equal or greater than $312,
the compensation rate shall be 80% of spendable income, up to a maximum of $1,418.
PPI - The Permanent Partial Impairment (PPI) rate is the whole person impairment rating times $273,000.
TPD - The Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) rate is 80% of the difference between the spendable weekly wage before injury and the wage earning capacity after injury.
041K - The Reemployment Stipend (041K) rate is 70% of the spendable weekly
For 2023, the Dependent Allowance is $83 and the FICA tax percentage remains 7.65%.
If you are an injured worker and believe your disability benefit is being calculated incorrectly, please contact your claims administrator. If you and the claims administrator are unable to agree on the rate of compensation, contact the Division of Workers' Compensation for further assistance.
Report technical problems with the calculator to the Division of Workers' Compensation at 907-465-2790, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org