Skip to content Back to Top

Alaska Occupational Safety and Health Review Board

The Alaska Occupational Safety and Health Review Board hears and decides appeals of citations, penalties, and abatement dates issued by the enforcement staff of the Occupational Safety and Health Section pursuant to the Alaska Occupational Safety and Health Act. The Board was created in 1973 under AS 18.60.057 of the Act, and its procedural regulations are contained in 8 AAC 61.160 – 8 AAC 61.220.

The Board consists of three members appointed by the Governor for staggered four-year terms. One member represents labor, one member represents industry, and one member represents the public. The Board chair is designated by the Governor.

The Board meets quarterly to hear contested cases. The Board is assisted by a hearing officer who presides over contested cases, rules on procedural and evidentiary matters, and prepares decisions and orders for the Board.

To contact the Board:

Commissioner’s Office
Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
1111 West 8th Street
P.O. Box 111149
Juneau, AK 99811-1149
Fax (907) 465-2784

OSH Review Board Members

Decisions and Orders
(The following Documents are in Adobe Acrobat format. Get the free Acrobat Reader Here)
Copies of Board decisions from 1975 to the present are available for review in the State Law Libraries in Anchorage, Fairbanks and Juneau.