Click for State of Alaska Home Page spacer
   Job Seekers    Workers    Employers    Researchers    Labor Shortcuts
To search our site type search terms in the box and click the find button


Division of Labor Standards and Safety

State of Alaska > DOLWD > Labor Standards & Safety

Summary of Alaska Child Labor Law

Alaskan youth under the age of 14 may only work in the following occupations:

  1. Newspaper sales and delivery.

  2. Babysitting, handiwork and domestic employment in or about private homes.

  3. Occupations in the entertainment industry, with an approved work permit from the Alaska Wage and Hour Administration.

Special Restrictions (14 and 15 year olds):

When school is in session, hours will be limited to a total of nine hours of school attendance plus employment in any one day; work will be performed only between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. and total hours worked will be limited to 23 in any week.

During school vacations, work hours will be limited to 40 hours per week between the hours of
5:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

Restrictions for 14 and 15 Year Olds:

  1. Occupations in manufacturing, mining or processing, including work rooms or places where goods are manufactured, mined or otherwise processed.

  2. Occupations involved in operation of power-driven machinery other than office machines.

  3. Occupations in construction (including demolition and repair) except office work.

  4. Any work in an establishment that serves alcoholic beverages.

  5. Public messenger service.

  6. Occupations in or about canneries, except office work.

  7. Work performed in or about boilers, engine rooms or retorts.

  8. Work involved with maintenance or repair of the establishment's machines or equipment.

  9. Occupations that involve working from window sills, ladders, scaffolds or their substitutes.

  10. Occupations handling or operating power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers, cutters, and bakery type mixers.

  11. Work in freezers, meat coolers, or preparation of meat for sale.

  12. Loading/unloading to or from trucks, railroad cars or conveyors.

  13. Occupations in warehouses and storage except office and clerical work.

  14. Occupations involving use of sharpened tools.

  15. Occupations in transportation of persons or property except office or sales work.

Minors 17 and under cannot be employed in:

  1. Occupations in manufacturing, handling or use of explosives.

  2. Occupations of motor vehicle driver or helper (some limited restrictions).

  3. Mining operations including coal.

  4. Logging or occupations in the operations of any sawmill, lathe mill, shingle mill or cooperage.

  5. Operation of power-driven woodworking machines.

  6. Occupations with exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiation.

  7. Operation of elevators or other power-driven hoisting apparatus.

  8. Operation of power-driven metal forming, punching and shearing machines.

  9. Occupations involving slaughtering, meat packing or processing or rendering.

  10. Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of power-driven bakery machines.

  11. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven paper products machines.

  12. Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile and kindred products.

  13. Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears.

  14. Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition, and shipwrecking operations.

  15. Occupations involved in roofing operations.

  16. Occupations involved with excavation operations.

  17. Electrical work with voltages exceeding 220, or outside erection or repair and meter testing including telegraph and telephone lines.

  18. Occupations involving exposure to bloodborne pathogens.

  19. Occupations involved in canvassing, peddling, solicitation of door-to-door contributions, or acting as an outside salesman.

Breaks:

An employee under 18 years of age who is scheduled to work six consecutive hours is entitled to a 30 minute break during the work day.

A youth under 18 who works five consecutive hours is entitled to a 30 minute break before continuing to work.

Alcohol:

All minors 16 and under must have a work permit on file with the department. If the employer has a restaurant designation and is licensed to sell alcohol, then all minors 17 years of age must also have an approved work permit.

Tobacco and Pull-Tabs:

AS 11.76.106 restricts access to areas where tobacco and tobacco products are sold. Effective 10/16/07, minors under 19 may not sell tobacco or tobacco products in the course of their employment.

15 AAC 160.480(b) prohibits the sale of pull-tabs by anyone under the age of 21.

Federal statutes are in some cases stricter than state statutes. For federal information, contact the U.S. Department of Labor at (866) 487-9243.

 

 

Alaska... Cool.

Quick Links
Employment of Child
(Pamphlet 200)
   
Comparison of Federal & State Youth Work Rules in Net Fishing
 
For further information contact:
Wage and Hour Admin.
U.S. Department of Labor

 

   Job Seekers    Workers    Employers     Researchers    Department Shortcuts    Webmaster
Page Updated July 22, 2014