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REFERENCE 

Allowances For Transportation, Meals and Lodging While 

Traveling For Medical Treatment.  

8 AAC 45.084 

 

Board regulation 8 AAC 45.084 describes medical travel expenses which are payable or reimbursable 

under the Alaska Workers' Compensation Act.  Allowances for mileage (when using a private vehicle), 

meals and lodging are based on the rate the State of Alaska reimburses its supervisory employees. 

 

Reimbursement for mileage when using a privately owned vehicle, effective January 1, 2010, shall be at 

the rate of $.500 cents per mile. 

 

Per diem for lodging is paid when the employee incurs expenses comparable to those arising from the use 

of good and moderately priced commercial lodging establishments catering to the general public. A 

reasonable amount for lodging must be paid by the employer if substantiated by receipts submitted by 

the employee. 

 

The employee is also entitled to the following meal allowances when on travel status for at least three 

hours, during a listed period, if the expense is incurred (a) on the last day of travel status following a 

period when overnight lodging is obtained or (b) when on travel status for more than 10 continuous 

hours, but less than 24 hours when overnight lodging is not required. 

 

Effective July1 1, 2007 through June 30, 2010, the per diem rates are as follows: 

 

 Time of Day Meal Allotted Monetary Allowance 

 Midnight to 10:00am Breakfast $ 12.00 

 10:00am to 3:00pm Lunch 16.00 

 3:00pm to Midnight Dinner  32.00  

  Total $60.00 
 


