State of Alaska
Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Labor Standards and Safety

AKOSH Program Directive #20-01

Date: January 24, 2020

To: All AKOSH Staff )
From: Joseph Knowles, Deputy Director/ Vv
Subject: 2020 FOM Penalties Supplement

This program directive, PD 20-01, is adopted as the 2020 FOM Penalties Supplement.
This program directive incorporates the annual adjustment to civil penalties for inflation.

This program directive is effective immediately. Please ensure that all members of your staff
receive a copy of this program directive and understand how to implement it.

Attachment: 2020 FOM Penalties Supplement

cc: Arlene Lamont, Area Director, Anchorage, OSHA, Region X
Abby Lopez, State Programs Manager, OSHA, Region X



State of Alaska
Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Division of Labor Standards and Safety

Effective February 1, 2020

2020 FOM Penalties Supplement

Executive Summary

This document is a supplement to chapter 6 of the AKOSH Field Operations Manual, PD 19-06.
The purpose of this document is to aid AKOSH personnel in proposing initial penalties for
violations of Alaska’s occupational safety and health standards.

How to Use This Supplement

Chapter 6 of the AKOSH Field Operations Manual provides the policies for proposing penalties
for violations. It contains references to the tables contained within this supplement. To use this
manual, first identify the appropriate part of the supplement based on the violation date of a
citation. The “penalties decision chart” is a helpful tool to identify the correct part. Turn to that
part, and use the appropriate table as referenced in the Field Operations Manual.

PART 2: VIOLATIONS OCCURRING ON OR AFTER FEBRUARY 1, 2020
APPENDIX A

Revised February 1, 2020
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Part 2: Violations Occurring On or After February 1, 2020
This part shall be used to assess penalties for violations occurring on or after February 1, 2020,
where penalties are being assessed before February 1, 2020.

Table S-1: Statutory Maximum and Minimum Penalties
Set by AS 18.60.095 and further defined under 8 AAC 61.140

Violation Type Maximum Minimum
Willful $134,937 $9,639
Repeat $134,937 $9,639
Serious $13,494 N/A*
Other than serious $13,494 N/A
Failure to abate $13,494 per day
unabated beyond the N/A
abatement date**
Posting requirements | $13,494 N/A

*Although not a statutory requirement, it is AKOSH policy that when a
proposed penalty for a serious violation would amount to less than $964, a
$964 penalty shall be proposed for that violation

**Generally limited to 30 days maximum

Table S-2: Violation Gravity Definitions

The gravity of a violation is defined by the gravity-based penalty (GBP):

e A high gravity violation is one with a GBP of $13,494
e A moderate gravity violation is one with a GBP ranging from $7,711 to $11,566
e A low gravity violation is one with a GBP of $5,783

Table S-3: GBP for Serious Violations
Severity + Probability = GBP

Severity | Probability | GBP Gravity OIS Code
High Greater $13,494 High 10
Medium | Greater $11,566 Moderate 5

Low Greater $9.639 Moderate 5

High Lesser $9,639 Moderate 5

Medium | Lesser $7,711 Moderate 5

Low Lesser $5,783 Low 1
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Table S-4: GBP for Other-Than-Serious Violations
Severity | Probability | GBP

Minimal Greater $1,000 - $13,494

Minimal Lesser $0

Table S-5: Repeat Other-Than-Serious, No Initial Penalty

For a repeated other-than-serious violation that otherwise would have no initial penalty, a
GBP penalty shall be proposed as follows:

> $385 for the first repeated violation,
> $964 for the second repeated violation, and
> $1,928 for a third repetition.

Table S-6: Serious Willful Violations

Total percent

reduction for size High Gravity Moderate Gravity | Low Gravity
and/or history

0% $134,937 $115,657 $96,387
5% $128,190 $109,874 $91,567
10% $121,443 $104,091 $86,748
15% $114,696 $98,308 $81,927
20% $107,949 $92,526 $77,110
25% $101,203 $86,743 $72,290
30% $94,456 $80,959 $67,471
40% $80,962 $69,394 $57,832
50% $67,469 $57,828 $48,193
60% $53,975 $46,263 $38,554
70% $40,481 $34,697 $28,916
80% $26,988 $23,131 $19,277
90% $13,494 $11,565 $9,639

Table S-7: Failure to Provide Access to Medical and Exposure Records

> A GBP of $1,928 shall normally be proposed for each record (i.e., either medical
record or exposure record, on an individual employee basis).
» A maximum GBP of $13,494 may be proposed for such violations.




Appendix A
Appendix A

Purpose:

This appendix provides instructions for updating the AKOSH Penalties Supplement when
maximum penalty adjustments occur.

Background:

Following the Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015,
federal OSHA began adjusting its maximum? penalties according to the Consumer Price Index
for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U). Alaska was required to follow suit, and Alaska’s initial
penalty adjustment went into effect on October 20, 2018.

No later than January 15™ each year, the United States Department of Labor will publish a notice
in the Federal Register with OSHA’s new maximum penalties for that year. Alaska follows suit
by publishing the pamphlet, “Alaska Occupational Safety and Health Civil Penalties” which
goes into effect on February 1%. The new amounts apply to penalties assessed on or after
February 1%. Alaska’s maximum penalties must be the same as those for federal OSHA.

Penalty Adjustments:

The FOM Penalties Supplement must be updated yearly by February 1%t. AKOSH will also need
to update OIS to fully implement the new penalties.

Steps for updating the FOM Penalties Supplement:

1. For the February 1%, 2021 Penalties Supplement only: Identify the year’s CPI
multiplier in the Federal Register notice. Multiply all penalties in the supplement by that
amount, rounding to the nearest dollar.

2. Check the results against federal OSHA’s updated OIS penalties. If a rounding
discrepancy exists ($1), use the federal penalty amount.

3. Re-name the supplement for the year when it becomes effective. Publish with an effective
date of February 1%,

1 Where the term maximum is used, it also refers to the minimum penalty for willful violations.
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