
 

 

 
 

 

Department of Labor and  
Workforce Development 

 

Labor Standards and Safety 

Wage and Hour 

1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113 

Anchorage, Alaska 99504 

Main: 907.269.4900 

 

 

May 6, 2025 

 

Dear Employer, 

 

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Wage and Hour is responding to 

ongoing problem areas concerning caregivers hired by assisted living homes (ALH). For the 

purpose of education, this letter is being sent as an industry-wide notice to address multiple 

issues that appear to be subject to widespread misunderstanding throughout the industry. Among 

the issues that have been the focus of questions, complaints and subsequent enforcement 

activities are: 

 

• The passage of Ballot Measure 1 in the 2024 general election and Alaska’s adoption of 

laws guaranteeing paid sick leave to most employees; 

 

• The absence of written hiring agreements between the employer and the employee; 

 

• Changes to the rate of pay without the required written notice; 

 

• Payment of wages and overtime inconsistent with the Alaska Wage and Hour Act; 

 

• Nonpayment of wages for all hours worked; 

 

• Insufficient or non-existent records of all daily and weekly hours worked by every 

employee; 

 

• Nonpayment or insufficient payment for the time spent in travel and other work-related 

duties; 

 

• Employees being incorrectly classified as independent contractors or volunteers; 

 

• Employees not being paid for overtime when their employers enter into a joint-employer 

relationship, and 

 

• Employees subjected to unlawful deductions from wages, the withholding of paychecks, 

or who are being compelled to reimburse employers from room and board above 

regulatory limits and without written authorization. 
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We will address each of these issues in this letter and we are always available to discuss any 

follow-up questions you may have. 

 

Paid Sick Leave 

 

Following the passage of Ballot Measure 1 in the 2024 General Election, Alaska has adopted 

laws guaranteeing paid sick leave to most employees. Alaska’s paid sick leave laws will go into 

effect on July 1, 2025. All covered employees will accrue sick leave at the same rate, 1 hour per 

every 30 hours worked. These hours worked are cumulative. The hours counted for salary-

exempt employees may be limited to 40 hours per week.  

 

The amount of paid sick leave that can be accrued and used in a year is capped depending on the 

number of employees an employer has. While accrual and usage are capped, the sick leave 

balance is not capped. Unused sick leave must be carried forward into the next year. 

 

Employers who have existing paid time off programs need to review their policies to assure they 

meet the minimum standards established by the new law. Employers are free to offer a more 

generous plan to their employees if they choose.  

 

Employers are prohibited from interfering with, restraining, or denying the use of paid sick 

leave. They cannot require employees to find coverage for missed shifts or take adverse actions 

against employees for the usage of paid sick leave. Documented verification of the need for paid 

sick leave, such as a doctor’s note, can only be requested for paid sick leave usage of more than 

three consecutive workdays and must comply with statutory requirements. 1 

 

The Department has published frequently asked questions to aid with the understanding of 

Alaska’s new sick leave laws and has provided a link to the ballot measure language. These can 

be found at:  https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/ballot-1-faq-2025.html. 

 

Written Hiring Agreements and Changes in the Rate of Pay 

 

Under Alaska Labor Law, employers must provide all employees with a written hiring 

agreement. This must include their rate of pay, where they receive payment, and the established 

payday which cannot occur less frequently than once per month (i.e. daily, weekly, bi-weekly, or 

monthly). Any time the employer elects to make a change, they must provide the employee with 

written notification of the change no later than on the payday before the time of change. The 

change cannot be made in the middle of a pay period and cannot be retroactive.2 

 

Minimum Wage and Overtime 

 

Except as otherwise provided for in law, an employer shall pay to each employee a minimum 

wage, for all hours worked in a pay period, whether the work is measured by time, piece, 

commission or otherwise. 

 

The current Alaska minimum wage is $11.91 per hour as of January 1, 2025. As of July 1, 2025, 

the minimum wage will increase to $13.00 due to the passage of Ballot Measure 1 in 2024. 

Alaska’s minimum wage is subject to annual adjustment using the Consumer Price Index for the 

previous calendar year.  

 
1 AS 23.10.067 
2 AS 23.05.160 

https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/ballot-1-faq-2025.html
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Barring any allowable exemptions, an employee who works over 8 hours in a day and/or more 

than 40 straight-time hours in a week must be paid 1.5 times their regular rate of pay3 (this 

requirement of the law is referred to as “overtime”4). Furthermore, if an employee is paid 

multiple rates of pay the overtime is to be calculated by using a weighted average formula unless 

there is an established agreement to pay overtime at 1.5 times the rate of pay for the type of work 

being performed during the overtime hours.5  

 

Time spent working is compensable time, even if an employee’s CPR license or other 

certifications have lapsed. If the work is directed by or allowed by the employer or if the 

employer has reason to suspect that the employee worked, the time spent working is 

compensable.6 An accurate record of all daily and weekly hours worked must be kept, and most 

importantly, the employee must be paid correctly for all these hours. 

 

Starting January 1, 2028, the minimum wage will be adjusted annually for inflation based on the 

Consumer Price Index. Ballot Measure 1 only changes the minimum wage rate, it does not 

change to whom the minimum wage applies. 

 

Salary 

 

Payment on a salary basis does not eliminate overtime requirements. Individuals who are paid 

on a non-exempt salary basis must be paid in a manner consistent with the minimum wage and 

overtime requirements of the Alaska Wage and Hour Act. 

 

Caregivers in assisted living facilities are not specifically exempt from overtime requirements 

and must be paid 1.5 times their regular rate of work performed in excess of 8 hours per day 

and/or 40 straight time hours in a work week. Payment on a salary basis does not eliminate 

overtime pay obligations. If a fixed and recurring pay rate for a set period of time, i.e. week or 

month, (salary) has been established, the applicable compensation basis must be converted to an 

hourly rate when determining the regular rate of computing overtime compensation and a written 

contract must be provided showing the hourly rate, the overtime rate, and the fixed number of 

hours worked each week to arrive at the specified, fixed salary amount. If the contract fails to 

establish a fixed number of daily and weekly hours that the salary is intended to compensate, or 

if the actual hours of work deviate from the hours specified in the contract without a 

corresponding adjustment in hourly pay, the salary will be considered to be compensation for an 

8 hour workday and 40-hour workweek, and overtime will be computed on that basis.7 

 

Note: To determine if an employee meets the exemptions from Alaska’s minimum wage and 

overtime requirements based on work in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional 

capacity, consult the Code of Federal Regulations 29 C.F.R. § 541, Alaska Statute 23.10.055, 

and Alaska Administrative Code 8 AAC 15.908, or contact the Wage and Hour office in your 

region. 

 

 
3 8 AAC 15.100 
4 AS 23.10.060 
5 29 CFR §778.419 
6 29 C.F.R §785.11 
7 8 AAC 15.100 
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Accurate Record of Hours Worked 

 

An employer shall keep an accurate record of all the daily and weekly hours worked by each 

employee.8 This recordkeeping requirement applies to all employees regardless of how they are 

compensated or how they are classified to include salary-exempt employees. A mere record of 

hours scheduled may not be sufficient to account for all the hours actually worked by the 

employee. As a best practice, employees should also keep a record of hours separately from their 

employer’s so they can check the employer’s accounting for accuracy at the time of payment. 

The time worked may also include, but is not limited to, time spent preparing to deliver services 

to the recipient and time spent on post-provision duties (such as preparing records or cleaning at 

the end of the shift, travelling between facilities, doctor’s appointments for clients, trips to the 

store to purchase items for the assisted living home, etc.).  

 

The burden to keep hours is borne by the employer under statute. Requiring an employee to keep 

a timesheet does not absolve an employer of this responsibility. Failure of an employee to follow 

employer reporting policy or issues with electronic reporting systems also do not resolve 

employers of the responsibility to maintain employee records and ensure employees are paid on 

the appropriate payday. Failure to follow employer policies may result in adverse administrative 

actions up to and including termination, it cannot result in the withholding of pay. 

 

Travel Time 

 

The employer must determine whether time spend in travel is working time. In contrast to 

regular home to work travel, which is not compensable, if time spent in travel is part of the 

principle activity of the employee’s work day, such as taking a client to a doctor’s appointment, 

the time is considered work and must be counted as hours worked.9 When an employee has been 

directed to provide services at one facility and is then assigned to provide services at a second 

facility, the time spend in travel between the two sites is also compensable time. Put simply, 

travel from job site to job site during the workday must be counted as hours worked. 

 

Independent Contractor, Volunteer, or Employee? 

 

Frequent calls to Wage and Hour have also raised the issue of caregivers being classified as 

independent contractors rather than employees. When determining whether or not the 

relationship between the business and the alleged employee is subject to the Alaska Wage and 

Hour Act and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), it must be determined “whether the worker 

is dependent upon finding employment in the business of others. If the facts show such a 

dependency, the worker is an employee.”10 Employers are encouraged to review the factors 

established by the Alaska Supreme Court (see footnote #8). In general, all caregivers should be 

treated as employees to avoid issues with agencies such as Wage and Hour, Workers’ 

Compensation, Unemployment Insurance taxes, and IRS taxes, unless the alleged employer can 

clearly demonstrate that a worker is an independent contractor. This is very unlikely unless the 

caregiver is the owner of the ALH business. The mere possession of an Alaska business license 

is not enough to substantiate independent contractor status. 

 

With regard to volunteers, a for-profit business is barred from using volunteer labor.11 

 
8 AS 23.05.080 
9 29 C.F.R. §785.38 
10 Jeffcoat v. State, Dept. of Labor, Sup. Ct. Op. No. 3162 (File No. S-1444), 732 P2d 1073 (1987) 
11 AS 23.15.055(6) 
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Joint-Employer Relationship 

 

A single individual may be an employee of two or more employers at the same time. A 

determination of whether the employment by two or more employers is to be considered joint 

employment or separate and distinct employment depends upon all the facts in the particular 

case. If all the relevant facts establish that two or more employers are acting entirely 

independently of each other and are completely disassociated with respect to the employment of 

a particular employee, who during the same workweek performs work for more than one 

employer, each employer may disregard all work performed by the employee for the other 

employer(s). On the other hand, if the facts establish that the employee is employed jointly by 

two or more employers (i.e. that the employment by one employer is not completely 

disassociated from the employment by the other employer(s)) all of the employee’s work for all 

of the joint employers during the workweek is considered as one employment. In this event, all 

joint employers are responsible, both individually and jointly, for compliance with Alaska’s 

overtime and minimum wage requirements with respect to the entire employment for the 

particular workweek and pay period. In simple terms, if one ALH hires a caregiver for 24 hours 

over three days, and a joint employer hires the same caregiver for 24 hours over three days, 8 

hours of overtime would be due. 

 

With regard to assisted living facilities, the mere fact that each facility is a separately licensed 

business, is owned by a relative, or maintains separate payrolls is immaterial. If the employee 

performs work which simultaneously benefits two or more employers, a joint employment 

relationship likely exists. In situations where there is an arrangement between the employers to 

share the employee’s services, or where one employer is acting directly or indirectly in the 

interest of the other employer(s), a joint employment relationship would exist. 

 

Employees Living in the ALH 

 

Assisted living facilities often hire employees who reside in the assisted living home on a 

permanent basis or for extended periods of time. Ordinarily, the employee may engage in normal 

private pursuits and thus have enough time for eating, sleeping, entertaining, and other periods of 

complete freedom from all duties, such as time when they may leave the premises for their own 

purposes.12 Though an employee may live in the assisted living home, not all of the time spent 

on the premises needs to be counted as work time. However, if an employer indicates to the 

employee that hours are to be worked, and the hours are actually worked, those hours worked 

must be paid. If an employee is engaged to wait by the employer and cannot use their time 

effectively for their own purposes, the employee is expected to be paid for their time spent 

waiting.13 

 

If an employee is completely relieved from all duties for 20 minutes or more during which the 

employee may use the time effectively for his/her own purposes, then the periods need not be 

counted as time worked.14 Again, the employer is expected to keep an accurate record of the 

daily and weekly hours worked by each employee to assure proper payment for the time worked. 

 

 
12 23 C.F.R. §785.23 
13 23 C.F.R. §785.15 
14 23 C.F.R. §785.18 
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Room and Board 

 

When an employee lives at the assisted living home, the employer is allowed to deduct an 

amount from the employee’s wages for the reasonable cost of room and board. The amount of 

this deduction must be reasonable and without profit to the employer and based on a written 

agreement signed by the employee. Use of the facilities must be voluntarily, and no deduction for 

room and board is lawful in any situation in which an employer requires an employee to use the 

employer-provided facilities. Hiring or firing employees based upon the employee’s willingness 

to authorize deductions for room and board costs from their check is not considered voluntary.15 

Furthermore, unless the employer and the employee have a written agreement, that meets the 

requirements of Alaska regulation 8 AAC 15.160, signed by the employee, before the deduction, 

the employer is prohibited from seeking to retroactively deduct the cost of room and board from 

their wages as an offset against wages due upon termination or wage deficiencies subject to the 

collection by the department. An employer may deduct an amount from the minimum wage or 

overtime rates set out under AS 23.10 of an employee’s earnings, to reimburse an employer for 

the reasonable cost of furnishing board or lodging based on a written agreement. A deduction of 

$20 per day or less for board or lodging will not require a determination by the director unless 

evidence indicates that the deductions unreasonable for the board or lodging provided or results 

in a profit to the employer. 

 

Before an employer decides they will implement a room and board agreement, they should 

consult Alaska Regulation 8 AAC 15.160(d) for the full list of requirements.16 

 

Sleep Time 

 

If an employee is required to be on duty for a 24-hour period of time, the employer and the 

employee may agree (preferably in writing) to exclude designated meal periods (no less than 20 

minutes) and regularly scheduled sleeping time of up to 8 hours from hours worked, provided 

adequate sleeping facilities are furnished by the employer and the employee can usually enjoy an 

uninterrupted night’s sleep. If the sleeping period consists of more than 8 hours, only 8 hours 

will be credited. If there is no agreement in place, the 8 hours of sleeping time and lunch periods 

are to be counted as hours worked. 

If the sleeping period is interrupted by work, this time is compensable. If the period is interrupted 

to such an extent that the employee cannot get at least 5 hours of uninterrupted sleep, the entire 

period must be counted as hours worked.17  
 

For further information on this subject you should study the information provided on the U.S. 

Department of Labor website found at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/direct-care/sleep-time. 

 

Deductions 

 

An employer and employee may enter into a written agreement to provide for deductions of 

monetary obligations of an employee. An employer may not require compensation from an 

employee to which they are entitled through force, intimidation, or threat of dismissal from 

employment, or any other manner. A written agreement for deductions is not valid if it would 

reduce the employee’s wage rate below the statutory minimum wage and overtime rates. 

 
15 8 AAC 15.160 
16 8 AAC 15.160 
17 29 C.F.R. §785.22 (a)(b) (2013) 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/direct-care/sleep-time
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An employer may not deduct from an employee’s wages any of the following:  

 

• Customer checks returned due to insufficient funds or any other reason,  

• Non-payment for goods or services as a result of theft or credit default, 

• Cash or cash register shortages, unless the employee admits willingly and in writing to 

having personally taken the specific amount of cash that is alleged to be missing,  

• Lost, missing, or stolen property, unless the employee admits willingly and in writing to 

having personally taken the specific property alleged to be lost, missing or stolen,  

• Damage or breakage costs, unless clearly due to willful conduct of the employee and the 

employee has acknowledged responsibility in writing. 

 

An employer shall give each employee a written or electronic statement of earnings and 

deductions for each period. The statement of earnings and deductions must contain the 

employee’s:  

 

• Rate of pay; 

• Gross wages;  

• Net wages;  

• Beginning and end dates of the pay period; 

• Federal income tax deductions;  

• Federal Insurance Contribution Act deductions;  

• Alaska Employment Security Act contributions;  

• Board and lodging costs;  

• Advances;  

• Straight time and overtime hours actually worked in the pay period;  

• Other authorized deductions.18 

 

Final Paycheck 
 
If the employment is terminated by the employee, payment is due at the next regular payday that 

is at least three days after the employer received notice of the employee’s termination of 

services. If employment is terminated by the employer, regardless of the cause for the 

termination, payment is due within three working days after the termination.19 The day of firing, 

weekends, and bank or state holidays, are not included in these three days. If an employer 

violates this statute, the employer may be required to pay the employee a penalty in the amount 

of the employee’s regular wage, salary or other compensation from the time of demand to the 

time of payment, or for 90 working days, whichever is the lesser amount. 
 

Workers’ Compensation Coverage 

Any business operating in Alaska with even one part-time employee is required to carry workers’ 

compensation insurance under Alaska Statute 23.30.075. The policy must be bound in the State 

of Alaska; Alaska is not a reciprocal state and does not recognize coverage bound in any other 

state or country, even if the policy purports to cover an injury occurring in Alaska. There is no 

exemption for family members or friends for purposes of workers’ compensation liability. 

Employee status is determined using the independent contractor definition found in Alaska 

 
18 8 AAC 14.160 
19 AS 23.05.140 
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Statute 23.30.230(a)(12).  The criteria in this definition are all-inclusive.  Penalties for not having 

workers’ compensation coverage are severe. It is a crime under the Alaska Workers’ 

Compensation Act for employers to misclassify employees or deduct all or any portion of 

workers’ compensation premiums from an employee’s paycheck. If you have questions 

regarding workers’ compensation requirements, please download and review the Employer’s 

Guide to the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act at 

https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/publications/employer_guide_to_wc_act.pdf or contact the Alaska 

Division of Workers’ Compensation at (907) 269-4980. 

 

Unemployment Insurance Coverage 

 

An employer misclassifying a worker as an independent contractor instead of an employee may 

be liable for penalties and interest for failure to report the worker and pay associated taxes. If you 

have questions regarding unemployment tax requirements, please contact Employment Security 

Tax at (888) 448-3527. 

 

Resources 

 

In conclusion, a business that is involved in practices that are not consistent with Alaska wage 

and hour laws must correct the discrepancies immediately to avoid future enforcement actions. 

We hope that your organization will take this opportunity to conduct an internal review and 

voluntarily make any wage adjustments. We have noted several applicable statutes and 

regulations for your review. Employers are encouraged to conduct a complete review of Alaska’s 

wage and hour laws and regulations as published in the Pamphlet 100 publication, which can be 

found at:  https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/pam100.pdf.  Our website can be found at:  

https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm.  

 

Wage and Hour provides a cost-free counseling service to Alaska employers, and we invite you 

to take advantage of this service. A regular, monthly webinar is offered to employers and 

employees concerning wage and hour laws. Check our website for the webinar schedule and 

contact our office at (907) 269-4900 for registration. In addition, an investigator is on duty each 

business day to answer any questions you may have. 

 

Alternatively, you may wish to contact a private attorney.  The Alaska Lawyer Referral Service 

may be able to assist you with locating an attorney to address your specific concerns.  You may 

contact this office at 1-800-770-9999 or visit the following website for additional information:  

https://www.alaskabar.org.  

 

https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/publications/employer_guide_to_wc_act.pdf
https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/pam100.pdf
https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm
https://www.alaskabar.org/

