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Summary of Alaska Wage and Hour Act 
Effective January 1, 2025, the Alaska minimum wage shall be $11.91 per hour. 

Effective July 1, 2025, the Alaska minimum wage shall be $13.00 per hour. 
 
 

Alaska Statute 23.10.050 – 23.10.150 establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, and sick leave standards for employment subject to its provisions. These 
standards are generally applicable to all employees. School bus drivers, however, shall receive at least two times the Alaska minimum wage. Other 
exceptions to the minimum wage requirement follow. 

Alaska minimum wage, overtime, and sick leave requirements do not apply to the following employees: 
 

♦ In agriculture; 
♦ In the taking of aquatic life; or the hand picking of shrimp; 
♦ In domestic service (including babysitting) in or about a private 

home; 
♦ By U.S., state or local governments (i.e., political subdivisions); 
♦ Volunteers for a nonprofit organization performing activities 

related only to the organization’s nonprofit activities; 
♦ In a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity; 

or in certain computer occupations, or as an outside salesman, or 
as any salesman working on a straight commission basis; 

♦ Youth under age 18 employed part-time for not more than 30 
hours in any week; 

♦ An individual who is employed by a motor vehicle dealer and 
whose primary duty is to (a) receive, analyze or reference requests 
for service, repair or analysis of motor vehicles; (b) arrange 
financing for the sale of motor vehicles and related products and 
services that are part of the sale; or (c) solicit, sell, lease or 
exchange motor vehicles; 

♦ Volunteer EMS personnel, volunteer firefighters, and volunteer ski 
patrol personnel; 

♦ A student participating in a University of Alaska practicum 
described under AS 14.40.065; 

♦ A person licensed under AS 08.54 and who is employed by a 
registered guide or master guide licensed under AS 08.54 for the 
first 60 workdays so employed during a calendar year; 

♦ An independent taxicab driver under the provisions of AS 
23.10.055(a)(13) 

♦ Solely as a watchman or caretaker on a premises out of operation 
for longer than four months; 

♦ In delivery of newspapers to the consumer; 
♦ In the search for placer or hard rock minerals; 
♦ An individual engaged in activities for a nonprofit organization 

where the employer-employee relationship does not, in fact, exist, 
and where services rendered to the organization under a work 
activity requirement of AS 47.27 (Alaska temporary assistance 
program); 

♦ By a nonprofit educational or child care facility to serve in place of 
a parent of children in residence if the employment requires 
residence at the facility and is compensated on a cash basis 
exclusive of room and board at an annual rate of not less than 
$10,000 for an unmarried person; or $15,000 for a married couple. 

Overtime Hours 
The standard workweek shall not exceed 40 hours per week or eight hours per day. Should an employer find it necessary to employ an employee in excess of 
these standards, overtime hours shall be compensated at the rate of one and one-half times the regular rate of pay. 

Compensation at the overtime rate is not required in the following cases: 
 

♦ By an employer who employs three or fewer people in the regular 
course of business; 

♦ An individual employed in preparing agricultural or horticultural 
commodities for market, or in making cheese, butter or other dairy 
products; 

♦ Agricultural employees; 
♦ An employee employed as a seamen; 
♦ Workers engaged in planting or tending trees, cruising, surveying, 

bucking or felling timber, preparing or transporting logs or other 
forestry products to the mill, processing plant, railroad or other 
transportation terminal if the total number of employees in such 
lumber operations does not exceed 12; 

♦ An outside buyer of poultry, eggs, cream or milk; 
♦ Hospital employees who provide medical services; 
♦ An employee under a flexible work hour plan which is included as 

part of a collective bargaining agreement; 
♦ An employee under a voluntary flexible work plan if the employee 

and employer have signed a written agreement which has been 
approved by the Department; 

♦ A community health aide employed by a local or regional health 
organization; 

♦ Work performed by certain flat-rate mechanics primarily engaged 
in servicing automobiles, light trucks, and motor homes, subject to 
certain and specific provisions (see AS 23.10.060(d)(17)); 

♦ An employee of a small mining operation where not more than 12 
people are employed, as long as the individual is not employed in 
excess of 12 hours per day or 56 hours per week during a period of 
not more than 14 workweeks in the aggregate in any calendar year 
during the mining season; 

♦ An employee employed by a newspaper with a circulation of less 
than 1000; 

♦ Casual employees as defined by regulations of the Commissioner 
of Labor and Workforce Development; 

♦ A line haul truck driver for a trip exceeding 100 road miles one 
way if the driver’s pay includes overtime pay for work in excess of 
40 hours per week or eight hours per day, and if the rate of pay is 
comparable to the minimum wage; 

♦ Work performed by an employee under a voluntary written 
agreement addressing the trading of work shifts among employees, 
if employed by an air carrier subject to subchapter II of the 
Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C.181-188), subject to certain 
provisions (see AS 23.10.060(d)(18)); 

♦ Work performed by a flight crew member employed by an air 
carrier subject to 45 U.S.C. 181-188 (subchapter II of the Railway 
Labor Act); 

♦ A switchboard operator employed in a public telephone exchange 
that has fewer than 750 stations; 

NOTE: This is not a complete list of exemptions to minimum wage and overtime provisions. Refer to AS 23.10.055 and AS 23.10.060. The above text is 
intended for informational purposes only and is not to be construed as having the effect of law. 

Sick Leave 
Starting July 1, 2025, sick leave is mandated by state law. Employers must provide a sick leave benefit that meets the following requirements: 
 
♦ 1 hour of sick leave is earned for every 30 hours worked 
♦ 56 or 40 hours of sick leave can be accrued and used per year 

depending on if the employer has 15 or fewer than 15 employees 

♦ No doctor’s note or verification is required for sick leave absences 
of three or fewer consecutive days 

♦ Unused sick leave hours carry forward into the next year 
 
No adverse actions can be taken against an employee for using sick leave. Sick leave is not required to be cashed out upon termination of employment.  
Sick leave does apply to bona fide executive, administrative, or professional employees.

Recordkeeping 
An employer shall keep for a period of at least three years all payroll information and records for each employee at the place of  employment subject to 
inspection and copy by that employee. 

 

Make inquiries to: Wage and Hour, 1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113, Anchorage, AK 99504 Phone: (907) 269-4900 Email: statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov 
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