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Questions about 
your rate, account 
or contributions?

CONTACTS
Juneau Central Office
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
Phone: (907) 465-2757 
Toll free: (888) 448-3527 
Fax: (907) 465-2374
Email: ESD.Tax@Alaska.Gov
Relay Alaska: (800) 770-8973

FIELD TAX OFFICES
Anchorage
P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767 
Phone: (907) 269-4850 
Fax: (907) 269-4845 

Fairbanks
675 7th Ave., Station L
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595 
Phone: (907) 451-2876 
Fax: (907) 451-2883

Juneau
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
Phone: (907) 465-2787 
Fax: (907) 465-2374 

Kenai
145 Main Street Loop, 
Suite 143, Kenai, AK 99611
Phone: (907) 283-0350 
Fax: (907) 283-5152

Mat-Su
877 Commercial Drive 
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937 
Phone: (907) 352-2535
Fax: (907) 352-2581

UI Tax Representative 
Toll free: (888) 448-2937

Unemployment Insurance Tax

Alaska Economic Trends Magazine is a monthly publication that covers a broad range  
of economic issues. To view the electronic magazine, search articles and archives,  
and sign up for a FREE electronic subscription visit labor.alaska.gov/trends.
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Take steps to reduce your 
2022 UI tax rate now!

Employment Security Tax has begun the process of calculating 
contribution rates for the calendar year 2022. Per AS 23.20.280, 
employers who have delinquent reports or a balance due on the 
account can be assigned the penalty rate, which is the highest rate 
(5.40%). Factors that will result in receiving the penalty rate are:

•	 A balance due on your account;
•	 Missing reports for any quarter (even if there is a credit on the 

account); or
•	 A balance due or missing reports on your predecessor’s (prior 

owner’s) account.

In 2021, 253 employers received the penalty rate. An employer 
with the highest experience rate of 2.07% would pay a maximum 
of $902.52 for an employee; whereas an employer with the 5.40% 
penalty rate would be liable for $2,354.40. This is more than double 
the highest experience rate and more than five times the amount for 
the lowest experience rate of 1.00%!

Contact any of the offices listed in this newsletter to:

•	 Establish deferred payment contracts;
•	 Advise you of rate-lowering options that you may not have 

realized were available;
•	 Assist you in the completion of any of our forms; and
•	 Confirm contribution reports and payments are posted correctly 

to your account or to your predecessor’s account.

Tax Online System
Visit labor.alaska.gov/estax and click on “Online Employer 
Services” to file your reports online, make payments using 
electronic fund transfer (EFT), update your account, and more!

mailto:ESD.Tax%40Alaska.Gov%0D?subject=
https://labor.alaska.gov/trends/
http://labor.alaska.gov/estax


We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
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Third quarter reports and payments  
are due by Oct. 31, 2021.

Why do I receive so many notices?
The short answer is we need a missing quarterly report and/or payment from you. Our 
agency makes an extraordinary effort to contact employers by email, phone, and mail 
to advise of any missing reports or payments. Please do not assume your report or 
payment has crossed in the mail, or if you use a third-party that they have provided 
the necessary report or payment. If our agency has notified you of a missing report or 
payment and you believe they have already been submitted, use the Tax Online System 
(TOS) to see the status of your report and balance, or contact any office listed on this 
newsletter to confirm the status of your account.

Did you update your 2021 tax rate?
As some employers' rates have increased this year, we have seen underpayments for the 
contributions due. Please confirm your 2021 rate has been updated in your payroll system. 
If you are using a third-party payroll company or a staffing/leasing company, please assure 
you have provided them with your correct 2021 rate. Although you may be paying a 
staffing/leasing company or a third-party to your file reports or pay your contributions due, 
you are ultimately the one responsible for reports and proper payments.

Are you a seasonal employer? 
If you are a seasonal employer who 
typically files “zero” reports (no wages 
were paid) for the quarters your 
business is seasonally closed, you 
may submit these reports when you 
are closing for the season. Email, fax, 
or mail in your future “zero” reports 
when you submit your final report for 
the season, and we will apply them to 
the appropriate quarter. Currently TOS 
does not allow for future reporting. 
The Alaska Quarterly Contribution 
Report form is available on our 
website at labor.alaska.gov/estax/
forms/toc_forms.htm.

https://labor.alaska.gov/estax/forms/toc_forms.htm
https://labor.alaska.gov/estax/forms/toc_forms.htm

