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Questions about 
your account or 
contributions?

Contacts
Juneau Central Office
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
Phone: (907) 465-2757 

Toll free: (888) 448-3527 
Fax: (907) 465-2374
Email: ESD.Tax@Alaska.Gov
Relay Alaska: (800) 770-8973

UI TAX offices

Anchorage
P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767 
Phone: (907) 269-4850 
Fax: (907) 269-4845 

Fairbanks
675 7th Ave., Station L
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595 
Phone: (907) 451-2876 
Fax: (907) 451-2883

Juneau
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
Phone: (907) 465-2787 
Fax: (907) 465-2374 

Kenai
11312 Kenai Spur 
Highway, Suite 2 
Kenai, AK 99611-9106 
Phone: (907) 335-3020 
Fax: (907) 283-5152

Wasilla
877 Commercial Drive 
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937 
Phone: (907) 352-2535
Fax: (907) 352-2581 

UI Tax Representative 
Toll free: (888) 448-2937
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New Reporting Requirements 

Employers who have 50 or more employees must file their quarterly 
contributions through Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development’s Tax online at

labor.alaska.gov/estax/home.htm

Reduce Your 2015 UI Tax Rate
The annual process of determining employer tax rates for calendar 
year 2015 has begun. Factors that may unfavorably affect your tax 
rate include:

•	 balance due on your 
account

•	 missing reports for any 
quarter

•	 balance due or missing 
reports on your 
predecessor’s account

Contact any of the offices 
listed in this newsletter to 
resolve the above bulleted 
items and to:

•	 establish deferred payment contracts
•	 advise you of rate-lowering options 
•	 confirm contributions and reports are posted correctly to 

your account or to your predecessor’s account

FUTA Tax Reduction
Under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) employers 
can receive a 5.4 percent offset against the 6 percent FUTA tax 
imposed if their state has an approved Unemployment Insurance 
(UI) program and no delinquent federal loans. 
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Alaska’s UI Trust Fund has remained solvent without the need to borrow from the 
federal government. Alaska employers can therefore expect to continue to receive their 
full federal tax offset, provided employers file their report and make their payments 
on or before the last day of the month which follows the calendar quarter for which 
contributions have accrued (8 AAC 85.30).

Are you a seasonal employer?
If you are a seasonal employer who 
traditionally files “zero” reports for 
quarters when your business is closed 
for the season (quarters where no 
wages were paid), why not make those 
reports part of your closing ritual? Mail 
your future reports (zero reports) to 
us when you close for the season and 
we will post them on the appropriate 
quarter due date. Currently, the Tax 
Online System does not provide for 
future reporting; however you may file 
your reports early on paper and send 
them to us through the mail.

The Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report form is online at
labor.alaska.gov/estax/forms/toc_forms.htm

LOWER YOUR TAX RATES BY REPORTING  
EXCESS WAGES CORRECTLY

UI contributions are due for each employee 
up to the amount of the current year’s taxable 
wage base ($37,400 for calendar year 2014). 

Wages paid to an employee in excess of the 
taxable wage base must be included on the 
“Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report” and 
listed on the “Wage Schedule,” but are not 
taxed. Amounts that exceed the current year’s 
taxable wage base must also be listed as a total 
in Box 3 on the quarterly contribution report for 
determining “Taxable Wages” paid during the 
quarter and the proper calculation of taxes due. 
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We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
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update your account ONLINE
To update your name, address, phone number or email on your Employment  
Security Tax account, go online: labor.alaska.gov/estax/home.htm.

Click on the "On-Line Employer Services" link to access and update your account.

When wages in excess of the taxable wage base are not included in the “Total 
Reportable Wages” listed in Box 2 of the “Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report” and 
on the “Wage Schedule,” you run the risk of creating a decline in the quarterly wages 
you report. A decline in “Total Reportable Wages” from one quarter to the next may 
have a negative impact on your assigned tax rate. 

SAVE TIME AND MONEY – FILE ELECTRONICALLY!

EMPLOYEE ADVANCES –  
WHEN ARE THEY REPORTABLE?

Payroll advances made to employees are reportable by the employer in the calendar 
quarter in which they are paid, not when they are deducted from a subsequent payroll. 

For example, an employee is paid an advance of $100 on Sept. 20 and the $100 
advance is later deducted from the employee’s gross for payroll issued on Oct. 1. The 
$100 advance would be reported in the “Total Reportable Wages” for the third quarter, 
not the fourth quarter. The gross wages less the advance amount reported in the 
previous quarter would be reported on the fourth quarter report.

All remuneration for service is to be reported in the quarter in which payment is issued. 

WHO’S THE EMPLOYER

Some Alaska employers look for ways to either supplement their existing staff or turn 
over their Human Resource (HR) functions to another company, thus allowing them to 
focus on their businesses. Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development is 
supportive of this concept.

In most cases, the business 
supplementing its employees or 
turning over the HR functions 
to another company is the liable 
employer and is responsible for 
reporting the wages under their 
account, not under the account 
of the business providing the 
workers or HR functions.

As an employer, you are required 
to report your employee wages 
under your account. Alaska 
does not allow employees from 
multiple businesses to be combined and reported under a single UI Tax account.

For UI Tax purposes, Alaska Regulation 8 AAC 08.015 determines which business is 
required to report wages of the employee by looking at:

•	 who directly benefits 
from the services being 
performed by the 
employee

•	 who exercises direction 

and control over the  
day-to-day duties

•	 whether the services 
performed by the 
employees are directly 

related to the nature of the 
client employer’s business 
operations and whether 
the services are performed 
in the client employer’s 
place(s) of business
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Login process

•	 Log in at  
labor.alaska.gov/estax

•	 Select “Online Employer 
Services”

•	 You will be routed to the 
myAlaska login page

•	 Select and complete 
myAlaska information

•	 Select “Employment 
Security Tax”

•	 Select particular service

Services provided online

•	 File your quarterly reports

•	 Electronic Fund Transfer of ES Tax Payments

◦◦ Pre-note is required for first-time users 
to verify banking information

◦◦ Bank account and routing info required

•	 View balance and payments

◦◦ First-time users will see a delay from 
pending to completed status

•	 Registration of a new business

•	 Close account

•	 Change contact information on tax account

•	 Update corporate officer information

Quarterly reports are due Oct. 31.

http://labor.alaska.gov/estax/home.htm

