Additional
Links
Related Links
Scheduled Release Dates
  • These data are updated annually and generally are completely up-to-date by mid May. Refer to the last update date on the bottom web page.
Contact Information
  • These data are only included on our web site as a courtesy to you. We are unable to answer questions about a specific license. Contact the licensing agency if you have specifc questions about a license. For all other inquires contact us at 907-465-4500.

Engineer

Licensing Authority:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Alaska State Board of Registration for Architects, Engineers and Land Surveyors
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
phone: Executive Administrator: Richard V. Jones (907) 465-1676
phone: Licensing Examiner (907) 465-2540
fax: (907) 465-2974
e-mail: richard.jones@alaska.gov


License/Exam Fees:

1) Engineer by comity application fees $520 ($100 fee, $170 review fee, $250 registration fee)
2) Engineer by exam $100 application fee & $250 registration fee (exam fees are paid to NCEES, who now administers the exams)
3) Biennial renewal $250
4) Fundamentals of Engineering $100 application fee


Licensing Requirements:

Applicants must pass the Fundamentals of Engineering Examination or show verification of 20 years of professional work experience. Also required is the passing of the Professional Engineering Examination and a board approved arctic engineering course (list is in the application). Contact the board for specific education and experience requirements or check AELS Statutes & Regulations listed on the Alaska State Board of Registration for Architects, Engineers and Land Surveyors Web site.

Note: Effective 3/12/2012 we will add 9 new branches of engineering to those we regulate. We will license all branches of engineering that NCEES presently has an exam for except architectural engineer, and softwear engineer.

The requirement for renewal includes 24 hours of continuing education. All hours must be in health, safety & welfare.


Valid Licenses in 2013:

5,086

last updated May 2014
The information on this page is updated annually and may have changed during the year. Contact the licensing agency for any changes.