FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
|DATE: June 8, 1999||CONTACT:||Karim Schultz|
|NO: 99-41||PHONE:||(907) 465-4855|
Labor Adopts Regulation Changes to the
Asbestos Abatement Certification Program
Labor Commissioner Ed Flanagan announced today that the Department of Labor has adopted regulation changes to Title 8 of the Alaska Administrative Code dealing with the asbestos abatement certification program. The regulations are set out in 8 AAC 61.600 – 61.790.
Alaska's asbestos abatement certification program will now be in compliance with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Model Accreditation Plan (MAP) located in 40 CFR Part 763, Appendix C to Subpart E. Alaska will conduct training for accreditation purposes under section 206 of the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 15 U.S.C. 2646; approve new training course providers to provide asbestos training that satisfies the requirement for TSCA; and issue accreditation that satisfies the requirements under TSCA.
The public comment period ended February 26, 1999. In response to comments received, the State has deleted the proposed definitions and adopted by reference those related definitions that define asbestos abatement in the construction asbestos code 29 CFR 1926.1101.
However, the department did not change the new requirement for a 40-hour training course that contains a minimum of 14 hours of hands-on application for both the worker and supervisor. Combining the worker and supervisor training into a single course results in a single annual update and reduces costs to contractors and workers.
A copy of these regulations may be obtained by writing to the Alaska
Department of Labor, Labor Standards & Safety Division at P.O. Box
111149, Juneau, Alaska 99811-1149 or by contacting any Alaska Occupational
Safety and Health field office.
Return to Index