Student Summer Work Programs

We have paid summer work programs in a variety of communities. Most are 4-6 weeks long and provide students with valuable work experience. Program content varies depending on the community. See list of programs below for details.

Who Can Apply

A student with a disability is: an individual age 14-21 and enrolled in secondary education (high school) who:

  • Is on an IEP or 504 plan, or
  • Is a student who is potentially eligible for DVR services because of a physical, sensory, intellectual, mental health, and communication disabilities and whose disability could be a barrier to postsecondary education or employment.

Teachers Note: They do not have to be “identified” by the school district for special education or related services. Example: This could be students who have difficulties learning, or difficulties with attention or they are challenged in an emotional or behavioral way. This could also include kids who have been through treatment, involved in foster care or juvenile justice.

List of Programs

Click on a program to find out more information. including contacts.

Program Details

  • Access Alaska, Inc. - Fairbanks

    The Access Alaska Summer Work Program is an intensive 4 week program that introduces various hands-on work experience to transitioning youth who experience a disability. Students will have the opportunity to learn new skills and grow personally and professionally both on the work site and during Friday workshops held at Access Alaska. The program will consist of 2 sessions: June 5th, 2017 - June 30, 2017 and July 10th 2017 – August 4th, 2017.

    Who can apply: Any Fairbank North Star Borough School District student with a disability can apply.

    Contacts: Meagan Scheer: mscheer@accessalaska.org or Christine Charron: ccharron@accessalaska.org (907) 479-7940


  • Annette Island School District (Community Underwater Clean Up)

    Students will have the ability to work and clean up their community waterways. Students will earn high school course credits and have fun learning to dive, as well as bettering their community waters by cleaning them up. The students who do not wish or not physically able to be part of the diving aspects will be able to help clear away the debris that is floated to the surface. The students will also work to obtain certifications in scuba and environmental issues.

    Who can apply:  Any AISD student with a disability can apply. 

    Contact: Maria Bishop, mbishop@aisdk12.org -  (907) 886-6000, ext. 2224


  • Arc of Anchorage

    The Arc of Anchorage's Summer Work Program will provide school-to-work transition opportunities in a variety of settings. Who can apply: The Arc of Anchorage primarily serves individuals who experience intellectual and developmental disabilities but for the Summer Work Program will accept applications from any student with a disability.

    Contacts: Danny Parish: dparish@thearcofanchorage.org - (907) 277-6677 or Markus Clark: mclark@thearcofanchoeage.org - (907) 277-6677


  • Arctic Access INC. - Nome/Kotzebue

    Provides summer work experience both in community businesses and in more supervised activities.
    Who can apply: Any students with a disability can apply

    Contacts: Denice Gilroy, arcticaccessnome@gci.net (907) 387-0688 cell 434-1682


  • Cordova School District

    Students will be placed in jobs of interest where they will receive real life experiences. Employers are partners with the Cordova School District in helping students with special abilities gain work experience by helping each student gain an understanding of the hiring process and the work environment demands.

    Who can apply: Any student of Cordova School District with a disability can apply.

    Contact: Shane Hill: shill@corfdovasd.org - (907) 953-7999


  • Family Centered Services of Alaska (FCSA) - Fairbanks

    The Summer Skills Development Program (SSD) focuses on gaining success in academics through our summer school program. Social skill development and vocational/work skills are woven throughout daily activities. Each student has opportunity to work in a paid position complete with benefits and responsibilities.

    Who can apply: Student with disability- Emotional / Behavioral.

    Contact: Leslie Tester, ltester@FamilyCenteredServices.com or Cheryl Williams, (907) 452-2109


  • Ketchikan Indian Community (KIC)

    KIC's Summer Youth Training and Employment Program (SYTEP) is an 8-week program that provides gain on-the-job training in a variety of local industries, matching students and employers for interest and best fit.

    Who can apply: Any student with a disability can apply. (Tribal members will receive priority).

    Contact:Katie Parrott, kparrott@kictribe.org  (907) 617-9831


  • Kodiak Area Native Association

    We seek to provide meaningful work experience to young adults through subsidized employment. Through our summer work program youth learn valuable skills necessary to survive and succeed in the workforce.

    Who can apply: Kodiak students with a disability.

    Contact: Greg Zadina, greg.zadina@kodiakhealthcare.org   (907) 486-9879,


  • Lower Kuskokwim School District

    No program info at this time.

    Who can apply: Any LKSD student with a disability.

    Contact: Jane Belanger, jane_belanger@lksd.org (907) 543-3957 ext. 2643


  • PCHS/Peninsula Community Health Services of AK, Inc.

    PCHS's HireUs program will provide services to a maximum of ten PCHS established clients between the ages of 14 21 with a disability community employment.

    Who can apply: PCHS clients (program does not accept referrals).

    Contact: Margaret Mercer, mmercer@pchsak.org (907) 260-3691


  • REACH INC - Juneau

    The work experiences will provide students opportunities to develop work readiness skills and job development through employment.

    Who can apply: Any student with a disability.

    Contact:Sherri McDonald, smcdonald@reachak.org or Lynn Marvel, lmarvel@reachak.org (907)586-8228


  • Southeast Alaska Independent Living (SAIL) - Juneau

    Youth in the Parks is partnership with the Zach Gordon Youth Center, teens will be working in parks and on trails throughout the city, building skills as a team and discovering strengths and interests for future education and career goals.

    Who can apply: Any student with a disability.

    Contact: Mallory Story, mstory@sailinc.org or Megan Ahleman, mahleman@sailinc.org, (907) 586-4920


  • Southeast Alaska Independent Living (SAIL) - Haines Office

    Targeting students in Klukwan. A community based program placing students with individual employers. Placement will consider the students interests and strengths as well as the overall fit of that student and employment setting. Who can apply: Any student with a disability can apply.

    Who can apply: Any student with a disability.

    Contact: Margaret Sebens, msebens@sailinc.org - (907) 766-3297


  • Youth Advocates of Sitka, Inc.

    YAS summer work program is designed to help youth with disabilities and mental health challenges to gain work experience that can prepare them to acquire and maintain employment in their communities.

    Who can apply: Any student with a disability.

    Contact: Jessica Clark, jessica.clakr@sitkayouth.org, (907) 747-3687